See how beginnings — and beginning again — are better with the performing arts.

On Saturday, June 5, New 42 celebrated arts educators in a once-in-a-lifetime outdoor celebration on 42nd Street in Times Square.

The event featured performances from Sara Bareilles, Freestyle Love Supreme Academy, Bill Irwin, Dance Theatre of Harlem, Chop & Quench featuring Sahr Ngaujah, DJ Duane Harriott, Brooklyn United Marching Band, and the Saxophone Ensemble of Celia Cruz Bronx High School of Music.

Event Details

Honorees included the NYC Department of Education, Office of Arts and Special Projects, accepted by Chancellor Meisha Porter, and Dance Educator & Advocate Jody Gottfried Arnhold

Take a peek behind the scenes of this once-in-a-lifetime outdoor celebration!

The event, which took over 42nd Street between 7th and 8th Avenues, was live-streamed free to the public.

Special Thanks to our Event Leadership Committee and Sponsors

Arnhold Foundation
The Arnhold Family is proud to support New 42 and its efforts to honor and support arts education in NYC.

Emily and Len Blavatnik
Fiona and Eric Rudin
Diane and Marc Spilker

Gray Foundation
Sarah and Eric Lane
Laurie M. Tisch

Shahara Ahmad-Llewellyn
Lynne Biggar
Agnes Gund
Kitty Patterson Kempner and Tom Kempner
Kate and Brad Peck
May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc.
Sarah Long Solomon and David Solomon
Gerri and Andy Sommers
Ann and Thomas Unterberg

Vice Chair:
Lise and J. Michael Evans
Jill and Barry Lafer
Henry Tisch

Caryn and Jonathan Bilzin, Lisa and Dick Cashin, Joe and Diana DiMenna, Brenda Earl, Stephen Graham, Judy and Leonard Lauder, Kim and Greg Lippmann, Bethany and Robert B. Millard Foundation, Stefanie Katz Rothman and James Rothman, Meredith and Eliot Rubenzahl, Jeffrey Seller and Joshua Lehrer, David and Leigh Bishop Taub, Judith and Stanley Zabar, Anonymous

Sarah Arison, Yemi Benedict-Vatel, Herman Berliner and Annette Schrader, Tim and Diana Brodlieb, Judy and Jamie Dimon, Lucinda Zilkha Francis, Erica and Michael Karsch, Caroline Kennedy, Lemberg Foundation, The Honorable and Mrs. Earle I. Mack, Isaac Mizrahi, Dan Nir and Jill Braufman Family Foundation, David Pérez and Milena Alberti-Pérez, Susan Rudin, Ralph Schlosstein and Jane Hartley, Melanie Shorin and Greg Feldman, Carla Solomon and Antonio Magliocco, Jr., Diane and Stephen Volk, Barbara and David Zalaznick, The Zoia Family

Caryn Seidman-Becker and Marc Becker, Jill Brienza, Beth Rudin DeWoody, Victoria and Josh Feltman, Christy Ferer, Joan Finkelstein and Alan Kifferstein, Tiffany and Sean Gardner, Vicki Gross and Jonathan Levine, Alexandra and Paul Herzan, Meredith J. Kane, Simone and David W. Levinson, Sammy Lopez, Lynn Povich and Stephen Shepard, Isabel Rose and Jeff Fagen, Pam and Scott Schafler, Heidi Stamas, Eva and John Usdan, Nadia Zilkha, Anonymous

BNY Mellon
Tiffany & Co.

(List in formation)

For questions, please contact Christina Aguirre at